Cheesy Shakshouka!

I’m not sure what your definition of happiness is, but my friend, this is happiness in your mouth! 😍

A completely delicious breakfast to start your day. It has eggs so protein so totes healthy right? With Sehri menus constantly nagging at the back of your mind, here’s a perfect Ramdhaan/Sehri candidate! An egg-cellent idea for Eid breakfast as well. See what I did there? LOL

By definition, Shakshouka or shakshuka (Arabic: شكشوكة‎‎) is a dish of eggs poached in a sauce of tomatoes, chili peppers, and onions, often spiced with cumin. In its present egg and vegetable-based form it is of Tunisian origin, and is now popular among many ethnic groups of the Middle East and North-Africa.

I’m the type of person who will always unnecessarily want to do my own thing (can literally hear my family and friends shouting hallelujah that I said that out aloud) so it’s no different in the kitchen!  I tend to like mixing things up and giving it my own little touch, so here’s my take on this egg-squisite dish. (I need help)

Hope you enjoy!

image

Cheesy Shakshouka

@bella_naby

For the tomato chutney:

Grate one medium onion and sauté in oil. Once it turns pink-ish ( shouldn’t get brown ) add in 4 grated medium sized tomatoes. Add in 1 heaped tsp chili powder, a pinch of turmeric, 1 level tsp brown sugar, 1 tsp Garlic, 2-3 green chilis and salt to taste. Let it cook. Once the chutney starts to sort of stick to the pan, that’s when you know it’s done.

Crack the eggs on the chutney and cover the pan. When the eggs are halfway cooked, grate your cheese over. Add finely sliced chilies on top ( Tip- I always cut my chilies with a scissor – it makes life so much easier and less messy! )

Anyway, all this talk about food and this fast is egg-hausting me ( OK THATS THE LAST ONE I SWEAR)

 

Bon appetit! 😉

2 thoughts on “Cheesy Shakshouka!

Leave a Reply

